Allen County lawmakers: Over $1.6 million to fuel local road projects

Posted by: Jake Thompson  | Thursday, October 10, 2019

STATEHOUSE (Oct. 10, 2019) – Allen County was recently awarded over $1.6 million in state matching grants to accelerate road and bridge improvements, according to State Reps. Martin Carbaugh (R-Fort Wayne) and Dave Heine (R-Fort Wayne).

Carbaugh said nearly $100 million was awarded to Indiana cities, towns and counties through the Community Crossings Matching Grant program, which is now in its fourth year. The grants are made available through the Indiana Department of Transportation as a result of a 2016 law, and funded through the state budget.

“It’s essential to have the best infrastructure possible not just for quality of life, but also for businesses,” Carbaugh said. “Commerce thrives on the ability for people to be able to reach goods and for those products to be delivered. That’s one reason why this program is such a priority.”

Heine said as part of the program Allen County received $138,670, bringing their overall total to more than $2 million since the law took effect.

“Earlier this year, Allen County received $1 million from Community Crossings to help with asphalt resurfacing for five county roads,” Heine said. “That’s on top of the $1 million received in 2018, and this most recent grant will help with additional local projects. This is such a valuable program for locals, and I’m encouraged to see Allen County continue to take advantage of the opportunity.”

In addition, several communities in the area were awarded grants, including:

  • Grabill, $645,000;
  • Huntertown, $720,414; and
  • Leo-Cedarville, $130,495.

 The grant funding can be used toward road and bridge preservation, road reconstruction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage. Smaller municipalities must provide a match of 25% in local funds, while large communities must provide a 50% match.

Since 2017, state road investment is up 50% as Indiana has dedicated $3 billion to road and bridge projects across the state.

More information about the program and recipients can be found at


State Rep. Martin Carbaugh (R-Fort Wayne) represents House

District 81, which includes a portion of Allen County.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.


State Rep. Dave Heine (R-New Haven) represents House

District 85, which includes a portion of Allen County.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.