Mayfield honors Martinsville academic decathlon team

Mayfield honors Martinsville academic decathlon team

Posted by: Brenda Holmes  | Thursday, March 21, 2019

STATEHOUSE (March 21, 2019) – State Rep. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) honored the Martinsville High School Academic Decathlon Team on the floor of the Indiana House of Representatives for their state championship victory at the Academic Decathlon Large School State Finals.

Focusing on the theme of “The 1960s,” the academic decathlon consists of 10 events that range from math and science to music and speech. The Martinsville Artesians won 5 of 10 categories, earning the highest score in the history of the Indiana Academic Decathlon State Tournament with 45,229 points.

“This group of bright students represented our community well at the state finals competition,” Mayfield said. “This is the team’s third-consecutive championship and their 20th state title in the last 22 years. It is the result of hard work and dedication, combined with support from their coaches and parents. They continuously make this community proud with what they are able to accomplish and how they carry themselves.”

The team was led by coaches Chris Sturgeon, Kenneth Barrett, Matt Smith, Scott Salmon and Clifford Marr. Team members include Devon Heath, Joe Rahman, Aric Peine, Mason Littell, Baileigh Hofer, Sabrina Chouinard, Brandon Duke, Nelson Eaton and Cameron Clark.

The state championship was hosted by Purdue University in February.

In April, the team will compete at the United States Academic Decathlon National Finals in Bloomington, Minnesota.


State Rep. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) represents House District 60,

which includes portions of Morgan and Monroe counties.

She is the assistant majority floor leader and serves

on the House Ways and Means, Public Policy and Insurance committees.

PHOTO CUTLINE: State Rep. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) honors members of the Martinsville High School Academic Decathlon Team Tuesday, March 19, 2019, at the Statehouse in Indianapolis. Mayfield recognized the team for winning the Indiana Academic Decathlon Large School State Championship in February at Purdue University.