Ziemke announces Greensburg student awarded $7,500 teaching scholarship

Posted by: Randy Spieth  | Friday, April 24, 2020

STATEHOUSE (April 24, 2020) — Hope Pruitt of Greensburg recently received the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship to help her pursue a career in education, according to State Rep. Cindy Ziemke (R-Batesville).

The statewide program awards scholarships to top-performing students who commit to teaching in Indiana for at least five years. Recipients receive $7,500 per year for up to four years to obtain a teaching license. The program began in 2017 thanks to legislation Ziemke supported.

"It takes a strong dedication to your own education to receive this competitive scholarship," Ziemke said. "That commitment will continue when Hope pursues her college degree and when she teaches in her own classroom in a few years."

Pruitt is a senior at Waldron Jr./Sr. High School and plans to attend Ball State University in the fall.

The Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20% of their high school class or earn a score in the top-20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

Ziemke said recipients must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year in order to continue receiving the four-year renewable scholarship totaling $30,000.

“Congratulations to all 200 students, who are on their way to becoming impactful, future Hoosier teachers,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers. “We know these students have the passion and determination to make a difference in classrooms across the state.”

The 2020-2021 application will be available in the fall. Visit LearnMoreIndiana.org/nextteacher for more information.


State Rep. Cindy Ziemke (R-Batesville) represents House District 55, which includes 
all of Fayette County and portions of Decatur, Franklin, Ripley and Rush counties.
here for a high-resolution photo of Ziemke.