Zent: Future educator scholarship awarded to local students

Posted by: Devan Strebing  | Wednesday, May 2, 2018

STATEHOUSE (May 2, 2018) — Three students in LaGrange and Steuben counties planning to pursue a career in education were selected to receive the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to State Rep. Denny Zent (R-Angola).

Zent who supported legislation creating this scholarship program, said the scholarship is awarded to top-performing students who commit to teaching in Indiana for five consecutive years. Recipients will receive $7,500 per year for up to four years to obtain a teaching license.

“This will be an excellent tool to attract the best and brightest students that Indiana has to offer by giving recipients an incentive and a reward to get involved in the teaching profession,” Zent said. “I wish these future teachers the very best in their academic careers.”

The Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20 percent of their high school class or earn a score in the top-20th percentile on the SAT or ACT. Zent said in order for students to continue receiving the scholarship in college, students must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year.

More than 500 students applied, and 200 scholarships were recently awarded to highly qualified students across the state, including these recipients from LaGrange and Steuben counties: 

LaGrange County

  • Alicia Walter, Prairie Heights Senior High School, Ball State University;

Steuben County

  • Lydia Martin, Angola High School, Indiana University Bloomington; and
  • Regan Peppler, Angola High School, University of St. Francis.

“We’re encouraged to have so many driven, passionate students applying for this teacher scholarship, and we look forward to the positive impact they will have in classrooms and school communities across Indiana,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers.

The 2019-2020 application will be available beginning in the fall. Visit www.LearnMoreIndiana.org/nextteacher for more information.


State Rep. Denny Zent (R-Angola) represents House District 51, which

includes most of LaGrange and Steuben counties.

A high-resolution photo of Zent can be downloaded by clicking here.