Young: Morgan County could soon be added to Indianapolis Airport Authority board

Posted by: Samantha Holifield  | Friday, March 9, 2018 10:02 am

STATEHOUSE (March 9, 2018) State Reps. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) and John Young’s (R-Franklin) bill that would expand Morgan County’s role on the Indianapolis Airport Authority board could soon become law.

Under this legislation, Morgan County would have a full-voting member on the Indianapolis Airport Authority board. Currently, the member representing Morgan County is limited to an advisory, non-voting role. 

“As Central Indiana continues to grow and attract more businesses, the Indianapolis International Airport will also expand its operations,” Mayfield said. “Morgan County sits right next to the airport and is impacted by the changes happening there. It’s important Morgan County is adequately represented and has a voice in the decision-making process, so we can best advocate for our community.” 

Over the past decade, other counties with advisory board seats have been granted voting member status. Because of Morgan County’s close proximity to the airport, both Mayfield and Young say having a voting member is vital. 

“Morgan County is impacted by traffic congestion, noise of flyovers and environmental factors from the airport,” Young said. “With the airport continuously adding flights and increasing air cargo shipments, it’s crucial Morgan County is able to fully contribute to discussions and decisions involving future developments and economic advancements.” 

According to the Indianapolis Airport Authority, the Weir Cook Terminal accommodated 8.4 million passengers during 2017. Averaging 145 daily departures, the airport serves 51 nonstop domestic and international destinations.

House Enrolled Act 1070 is now eligible for action by the governor. To learn more, visit


State Rep. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) represents House District 60, which includes portions of Morgan and Monroe counties and is the Assistant Majority Floor Leader.

A high-resolution photo of Mayfield can be downloaded by clicking here.


State Rep. John Young (R-Franklin) represents portions of Johnson and Morgan Counties.

A high-resolution photo of Young can be downloaded by clicking here.