Tippecanoe County lawmakers: Scholarship available to aspiring educators

Posted by: Jessica Bruder and Allison Vanatsky  | Wednesday, October 3, 2018

STATEHOUSE (Oct. 3, 2018) – Area lawmakers urge current high school seniors planning to pursue a degree in education to apply for the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship.

According to State Rep. Don Lehe (R-Brookston), the scholarship provides $7,500 a year for a maximum of four years to 200 students who attend an Indiana college or university.

“Hoosier teachers are invaluable to our communities,” Lehe said. “Taking advantage of scholarships like these can help ease the financial burden for those preparing for a career in education.”

State Rep. Sharon Negele (R-Attica) said the scholarship was established to encourage more high-achieving students to pursue a career in Indiana classrooms.

“We are fortunate to have so many talented and dedicated students wanting to teach the next generation,” Negele said. “This scholarship is a way to encourage them to start their career right here in Indiana, teaching and inspiring young Hoosiers for years to come.” 

Applicants must be in the top 20 percent of their high school graduating class or have earned a score in the top 20th percentile on the SAT or ACT. Recipients must commit to teaching in Indiana for five consecutive years upon graduation.

State Rep. Sally Siegrist (R-West Lafayette) said interested students should be nominated by a teacher and submit a nomination form with their application, which is available at ScholarTrack.IN.gov. College students currently studying education may also apply as long as they graduated from an Indiana accredited high school or non-accredited nonpublic high school.

“Teachers play a pivotal role in students’ lives,” Siegrist said. “These scholarships ensure Indiana keeps outstanding educators in our communities, and helps students succeed both inside and outside the classroom.”

For more information and to apply before the Nov. 30 deadline, visit www.LearnMoreIndiana.org/nextteacher.


State Rep. Don Lehe represents House District 25, which includes
portions of
Carroll, Cass, Clinton, Tippecanoe and White counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.


State Rep. Sharon Negele represents House District 13, which includes all of Benton County,
and portions of Fountain, Jasper, Montgomery, Newton, Tippecanoe, Warren and White counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.


State Rep. Sally Siegrist represents House District 26,
which includes portions of Tippecanoe County.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.