Tippecanoe County lawmakers invite aspiring teachers to apply for scholarship

Posted by: Jessica Bruder  | Tuesday, September 24, 2019

STATEHOUSE (Sept. 24, 2019) – Tippecanoe County lawmakers encourage aspiring teachers planning or pursuing a degree in education to apply for the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship.

State Reps. Tim Brown (R-Crawfordsville), Don Lehe (R-Brookston) and Sharon Negele (R-Attica) supported legislation establishing the scholarship in order to attract more high-achieving students to pursue a career in Hoosier classrooms.

“This scholarship is a good opportunity for those with a passion for teaching to save on college costs,” Brown said. “With our great universities, supportive school districts and low cost of living, those who launch their teaching careers in Indiana have a solid foundation as they become someone who students look up to, learn from and remember.”

Current high school seniors, college freshmen and college sophomores can earn a renewable scholarship of up to $7,500 each year for four academic years, totaling $30,000. Lehe said scholarship recipients must maintain a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year, and commit to teaching for five consecutive years in Indiana after earning their degree.

“Everyone remembers their favorite teacher,” Lehe said. “Educators have a huge impact on the lives of their students, and we want to see even more inspiring teachers in Indiana’s classrooms making a difference.”

Applicants must be in the top 20 percent of their high school graduating class or have earned a score in the top 20th percentile on the SAT or ACT. Interested students should be nominated by a teacher and submit a nomination form with their application, which is available at ScholarTrack.IN.gov.

According to Negele, the scholarship has already helped more than 40 Hoosiers become licensed teachers. Last year, 393 students applied, with applications from 212 high schools representing 82 of Indiana’s 92 counties.

“The rigorous program criteria sets the bar high, but Indiana has so many talented students,” Negele said. “We want our best and brightest in our classrooms teaching the next generation, and this scholarship is a great financial incentive to help keep talented professionals in our schools.”

To apply before the Nov. 30 deadline, visit www.LearnMoreIndiana.org/nextteacher. Finalists will be named by Jan. 10, 2020, to be interviewed in Indianapolis on March 14, 2020. Recipients will be notified by April 3, 2020.


Rep. Tim Brown (R-Crawfordsville) represents House District 41, which includes
portions of Boone, Montgomery and Tippecanoe counties.
here for a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Don Lehe (R-Brookston) represents House District 25, which
includes portions of Carroll, Cass, Clinton, Tippecanoe and White counties.
here for a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Sharon Negele (R-Attica) represents House District 13, which includes all of Benton County, 
and portions of Fountain, Jasper, Montgomery, Newton, Tippecanoe, Warren and White counties. 
here for a high-resolution photo.