Technology association names Ober ‘Legislator of the Year’

Posted by: Brenda Holmes  | Friday, June 9, 2017

STATEHOUSE (June 9, 2017) — State Rep. Dave Ober (R-Albion) was honored by the Indiana Broadband and Technology Association with a Legislator of the Year award for his work to expand broadband service.

“Working on this legislation has been a rewarding experience,” said Ober who serves as the chair of the House Committee on Energy, Utilities and Telecommunications Committee. “This is an area that I am very passionate about and I am grateful to be recognized and to serve in a leadership position where I get to work on issues in a quickly evolving field.”

Ober co-authored a new law helping to expand broadband service to rural areas of Indiana. Currently, local governments seeking certification as a broadband-ready community must comply with specific requirements through the Indiana Economic Development Corporation. House Enrolled Act 1626 adds a guideline requiring broadband-ready communities to establish a plan to increase the number of broadband service subscribers in their area.

“HEA 1626 creates a legislative summer study committee that will search for more ways to reach out to rural areas of the state with more broadband coverage through all sources,” IBTA Chair Bill Soards said.

Ober was honored along with State Sen. Mark Messmer (R-Jasper) who serves as the chair of the Senate Commerce and Technology Committee.

“We are pleased to honor Rep. Ober and Sen. Messmer with these awards today,” said John E. Koppin, president of the IBTA. “They have worked hard this year to build a knowledge base on broadband in the House and Senate that will serve Hoosiers well as our economy becomes more diverse and more dependent on broadband and technology jobs. We are excited to work with such qualified legislators heading important committees on the Indiana General Assembly.”

The IBTA is an advocate for the state’s broadband and technology communities and include large worldwide broadband companies, rural communications providers and high-growth technology companies.


State Rep. Dave Ober represents all of Noble County and portions

of Allen, Elkhart, LaGrange and Whitley counties.

A high-resolution photo of Ober can be downloaded by clicking here.

Photo attached and below.

 LEGISLATORS OF THE YEAR: State Rep. Dave Ober (R-Albion) and State Sen. Mark Messmer (R-Jasper) receive Legislator of the Year awards from Indiana Broadband and Technology Chair Bill Soards (right). The presentation took place Thursday at the IBTA 2017 Annual Convention.