State Reps. Brown, Negele encourage local communities to apply for road funding grants

Community Crossings grant application deadline is Oct. 23

Posted by: Courtney Heiden  | Wednesday, October 7, 2020

STATEHOUSE (Oct. 7, 2020) – State Reps. Tim Brown (R-Crawfordsville) and Sharon Negele (R-Attica) encourage Montgomery County communities to apply for the Community Crossings Matching Grant Program to help fund local road and bridge projects.

Brown, co-author of the 2016 law creating Indiana's long-term road funding plan, said Community Crossings Matching Grants help cities, towns and counties fund local infrastructure projects through preservation, road construction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage.

"Maintaining and improving local infrastructure is key to our overall growth, but the costs of these types of projects can be significant and stretch tight budgets," Brown said. "Communities can partner with the state to receive some additional funding, but the deadline to apply for the next round of grants is coming up fast, so it's time to go online and start the process."

According to Brown, Hoosier communities are eligible for a state match up to $1 million annually and the Indiana Department of Transportation opens applications twice a year. Due to COVID-19, this year’s second round of calls for projects was postponed in July, but Gov. Eric Holcomb recently announced that the matching grant program will resume and the new application deadline is Oct. 23.

Negele, who also supported the law establishing the program, said counties with fewer than 50,000 residents and cities and towns with less than 10,000 residents contribute 25% of the matching funds, with larger communities contributing 50%. To be eligible, all local units of government must have an approved Asset Management Plan and provide a funding match.

"This program is designed with both large and small communities in mind," Negele said. "We do not want anyone to miss the opportunity to receive some additional money that could be put to good use. Indiana is fortunate to be in the financial position to continue investing in our local infrastructure needs when many other states are not so well off."

Since the program's inception, $739 million has been awarded to support Hoosier communities and infrastructure projects around the state. Local governments can apply for the program online at, with forms due by 5 p.m. EST on Oct. 23.  


State Rep. Tim Brown (R-Crawfordsville) represents House District 41,
which includes portions of Boone, Montgomery and Tippecanoe counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Sharon Negele (R-Attica) represents House District 13,
which includes all of Benton County, and portions of Fountain, Jasper,
Montgomery, Newton, Tippecanoe, Warren and White counties. 
here to download a high-resolution photo.