Speaker Bosma announces leadership and committee changes

Posted by: Erin Reece  | Thursday, November 19, 2015

INDIANAPOLIS (Nov. 19, 2015) – Today, House Speaker Brian C. Bosma (R-Indianapolis) announced caucus leadership and committee chairmanship assignments for the Indiana House of Representatives.

"I firmly believe that committees are the workhorses of our legislative institution. Much of the heavy lifting is done in our committees, which are requiring more from legislators than ever before," Bosma said.

Bosma announced the appointment of State Rep. Mike Karickhoff (R-Kokomo) as deputy speaker pro tem, and State Rep. Sharon Negele (R-Attica) as assistant majority whip.

Other changes include State Rep. Martin Carbaugh (R-Fort Wayne) as the new chairman of the Insurance Committee, and State Rep. Cindy Kirchhofer (R-Beech Grove) as chairwoman of the Public Health Committee. Former Public Health chairman State Rep. Ed Clere (R-New Albany) will assume a role on the Ways & Means Committee.

Visit www.indianahouserepublicans.com/clientuploads/PDF/2016/11.17.15-2016_COMMITTEE_Chairs.pdf for a link to the complete list.