Saunders: Henry County, local communities eligible for pandemic relief funds

Posted by: Lydia Kirschner  | Tuesday, May 26, 2020 10:41 am

STATEHOUSE (May 26, 2020) – Henry County and local communities are eligible for more than $2.3 million to cover COVID-19-related expenses through the federal stimulus package, according to State Rep. Tom Saunders (R-Lewisville).

Indiana allocated $300 million in federal funding from the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economics Security Act to counties and communities for reimbursement of expenditures related to the pandemic. Saunders said the funding, allocated based on population, cannot be used to replace lost tax revenue.

"When local governments made their budgets, they could not predict we would experience a public health crisis like this," Saunders said. "Protecting Hoosiers is a priority and our communities are now dealing with these unexpected expenses. This federal funding will help our towns, cities and county get through this outbreak."

Henry County is eligible for $1,566,093 in reimbursement funding. In addition, these local communities are eligible to receive the following amounts:

  • Blountsville $4,185;
  • Cadiz $4,542;
  • Dunreith $5,547;
  • Greensboro $4,477;
  • Kennard $14,567;
  • Knightstown $68,229;
  • Lewisville $11,387;
  • Middletown $73,030;
  • Mooreland $11,614;
  • Mount Summit $10,901;
  • New Castle $560,239;
  • Spiceland $27,479;
  • Springport $4,574;
  • Straughn $6,942; and
  • Sulphur Springs $12,133.

The Indiana Finance Authority is in charge of implementing guidelines on how each county, city and town can use the funding, as well as compiling reimbursement requests through accepted documentation including invoices. Visit for more information.


State Rep. Tom Saunders (R-Lewisville) represents House District 54,

which includes Henry County and portions of Rush and Wayne counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.