Saunders announces Henry County student recipients of $7,500 teaching scholarship

Posted by: Lydia Kirschner  | Monday, May 11, 2020 1:30 pm

STATEHOUSE (May 11, 2020) — Two New Castle High School students pursuing a career in education recently received the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to State Rep. Tom Saunders (R-New Castle).

The statewide program awards scholarships to top-performing students who commit to teaching in Indiana for at least five years. Recipients receive $7,500 per year for up to four years to obtain a teaching license. The program began in 2017 thanks to legislation Saunders supported.

"This scholarship is a great opportunity for students studying education," Saunders said. "The program can help decrease the financial strain of college, so these individuals can focus on learning more about teaching and prepare to take on a classroom of their own."

More than 350 students applied and several scholarships were recently awarded to local students. Recipients included two New Castle High School students, Zoe Conway, who plans to attend Ball State University, and Kate Schmeisser, who plans to attend Indiana University East.

 The Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20% of their high school class or earn a score in the top-20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

Saunders said recipients must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year in order to continue receiving the four-year renewable scholarship totaling $30,000.

“Congratulations to all 200 students, who are on their way to becoming impactful, future Hoosier teachers,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers. “We know these students have the passion and determination to make a difference in classrooms across the state.”

The 2020-2021 application will be available in the fall. Visit for more information.


 State Rep. Tom Saunders (R-Lewisville) represents House District 54,

which includes Henry County and portions of Rush and Wayne counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.