Reps. Negele, Gutwein: State awards Jasper County, De Motte over $1.8M to help drive local road projects

Posted by: Josh DeFonce  | Monday, May 3, 2021 9:45 am

STATEHOUSE (May 3, 2021) – Indiana recently awarded more than $1.8 million in state matching grants to Jasper County and De Motte for road and bridge improvements, according to State Reps. Sharon Negele (R-Attica) and Douglas Gutwein (R-Francesville).

Through the Community Crossings Matching Grant program, 218 Hoosier cities, towns and counties received a combined total of over $100 million. This program was established in 2016 and expanded a year later in 2017 through laws Negele and Gutwein supported. The Indiana Department of Transportation oversees and distributes these grants twice each year.

"These grants help local governments complete ongoing and future infrastructure projects, which contributes to economic growth," Negele said. "Maintaining our roads and bridges sends a message to job creators that Indiana is open for business and attracts companies to our state."

Jasper County received $818,252 and De Motte received $1 million for local road and bridge projects.

Gutwein said communities can use these funds for road and bridge preservation, road reconstruction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage. Smaller municipalities must provide a 25 percent match in local funds, while large communities must provide a 50 percent match.

"The Community Crossings program ensures small towns, like De Motte, are able to move ahead on infrastructure projects," Gutwein said. "Maintaining roads throughout the entire state is an ongoing effort, and these investments help communities of all sizes pay for improvements."

More than $931 million in total has been awarded throughout the state since 2016. State law requires that 50 percent of the available matching funds be awarded annually to communities within counties with a population of 50,000 or fewer. 

More information about the program and recipients can be found online at The next call for projects through Community Crossings will open in July 2021.


State Rep. Douglas Gutwein (R-Francesville) represents House District 16, which
includes all of Pulaski County and portions of Fulton, Jasper, Newton and Starke counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Sharon Negele (R-Attica) represents House District 13,
which includes all of Benton County, and portions of Fountain, Jasper,
Montgomery, Newton, Tippecanoe, Warren and White counties. 
here to download a high-resolution photo.