Rep. Torr Recognizes Educational Excellence

Thursday, January 14, 2010 7:00 pm

Start Date:  1/14/2010  All Day  
End Date:  1/14/2010    

STATEHOUSE-Indiana's Four Star School Awardees were announced for the 2008-2009 school year on Wednesday, said Rep. Jerry Torr (R-Carmel). Five of the 188 schools that were honored with the prestigious award were within Rep. Torr's district.

Among those schools were Clay Middle School, Carey Ridge Elementary School, Oak Trace Elementary School, Shamrock Elementary School and New Britton Elementary School.

The Four Star School Award is the state's highest educational distinction.

"It should come as no surprise that education plays an intricate role in the future development of our Hoosier state," said Rep. Torr. "It's great to see our local schools being awarded for their excellence in educating young people. To be placed the top 25 percent of schools within your district is special but throughout the whole state is an honor."

Four Star Schools represent the top 25 percent of schools in Indiana. To earn the award, a school must be fully accredited by the Indiana State Board of Education, meet all Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) as defined by the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 (NCLB), and perform in the top 25 percent of all schools in each of the following areas: . I-STEP+ Percent Passing both English/LA and Math . I-STEP+ Language Proficiency T-Score . I-STEP+ Math Proficiency T-Score . Attendance Rate

For the current list of all 188 Four Star Schools, go to: