Rep. Negele: Local communities awarded grants to improve roads

Posted by: Zach Weismiller  | Thursday, August 25, 2016

STATEHOUSE (Aug. 25, 2016) — Local communities received state matching grants this week to improve roads and bridges, according to State Rep. Sharon Negele (R-Attica).

This year, Negele supported legislation establishing the state’s Community Crossings matching grant fund, which will provide about $160 million to Indiana cities, towns and counties on a 50/50 matching basis.

“These funds allow our local governments to make necessary improvements to their transportation infrastructure,” Negele said. “As we look to the upcoming session, it is critical that lawmakers examine all of the funding mechanisms that can be utilized in the 2017 budget, and work to develop a plan that addresses state and local needs for years to come.”

As part of the program, Benton County received $932,142, Montgomery County received $565,098, Tippecanoe County received $721,062, Warren County received $778,878, Newton County received $325,000, Jasper County received $1 million and White County received $1 million for road and bridge improvements.

In addition, 17 local communities were awarded grants, including Attica ($54,650), Battle Ground ($80,500), Chalmers ($34,440), Clarks Hill ($10,000), Crawfordsville ($687,744), DeMotte ($663,028), Ladoga ($37,084), Lafayette ($1 million), Monticello ($265,490), Otterbein ($155,800), Oxford ($132,585), Rensselaer ($443,296), Shadeland ($149,656), Waynetown ($3,807), West Lafayette ($797,027), Wheatfield ($64,450) and Williamsport ($99,486).

This week, INDOT announced 223 Indiana cities, towns and counties in Northern and Central Indiana were awarded $98 million through the fund. Projects that are eligible for funding through Community Crossings include road resurfacing, bridge rehabilitation, road reconstruction, resurfacing, and Americans with Disabilities Act compliance in connection with road projects. Material costs for chip sealing and crack filling operations were also eligible for funds.

For more information about Community Crossings, and a complete list of Indiana cities, towns and counties receiving matching funds through this program for the calendar year 2016 visit


State Rep. Sharon Negele (R-Attica) represents all of Benton County, and portions of Fountain, Jasper, Montgomery, Newton, Tippecanoe, Warren and White counties.

A high-resolution photo of Negele can be downloaded by clicking here.