Rep. Negele congratulates local families on long-standing farms

Posted by: Zach Weismiller  | Friday, August 14, 2015

STATEHOUSE — State Representative Sharon Negele (R-Attica) congratulates local families from Benton, Newton and Tippecanoe counties for receiving the Hoosier Homestead Award. The awards were presented by Lt. Governor Sue Ellspermann at the Indiana State Fair.

The Hoosier Homestead Award Program recognizes farming families who have owned and operated the same farm for 100 years or more. Families who have owned a farm for 100 years were presented with centennial awards, while those with 150 and 200 years of ownership were presented with sesquicentennial and bicentennial awards respectively.

The following list includes the local families that received Hoosier Homestead Awards:

  • The Leroy & Alma Puetz Farm, located in Benton County, has been operated since 1910 and received the Centennial award.
  • The Franklin-Anderson-Wright Farm, located in Newton County, has been operated since 1864 and received the Sesquicentennial award.
  • The Thompson Farm, located in Tippecanoe County, has been operated since 1855 and received the Sesquicentennial award.

“The commitment by these local farm families, as well as many others across the state, to strengthen Indiana’s agricultural industry is commendable,” said Rep. Negele. “To own and operate a farm for over a century is truly remarkable and deserving of this recognition.”

The program was established in 1976 to acknowledge the contributions made by these farming families to Indiana’s economy, reputation and overall advancement. Since its inauguration, the program has recognized more than 5,000 farms for their dedication to Hoosier agriculture.

Two awards ceremonies are held each year, in the spring and summer, to commemorate the achievements of the many outstanding Hoosier farmers across the state. For more information on the Hoosier Homestead Award Program, visit


Rep. Negele represents a portion of Benton, Fountain, Jasper, Montgomery, Newton, Tippecanoe, Warren and White counties.