Rep. Morrison sworn in, supports charity on Organization Day

Posted by: Jessica Baker  | Tuesday, November 18, 2014

STATEHOUSE – Indiana Legislators were sworn in today, Organization Day, which marks the first meeting for the 119th General Assembly. All 100 members of the House, including eight new Republicans, were sworn in by Chief Justice Loretta Rush. State Representative Alan Morrison (R-Terre Haute) was reelected to represent House District 42, which includes all of Vermillion County and portions of Clay, Fountain, Parke Vigo and Warren counties.

“It is an honor to serve our community in the Indiana House of Representatives,” said Rep. Morrison. “I am excited to start working on some of Indiana’s most pressing issues as well as having open dialogue in order to make West Central Indiana the best place to live, work and raise a family.”

In addition to being sworn in, every Organization Day includes an announcement made by House Speaker Brian C. Bosma (R-Indianapolis) to support and raise awareness for a certain charity throughout the legislative session. This year’s philanthropy, which the entire House participates in, is the Indiana Coalition Against Domestic Violence (ICADV).

An estimated 1.3 million women are victims of physical assault by an intimate partner each year, and the ICADV works diligently to create awareness, change public policy and create initiatives to decrease this alarming statistic.

During Organization Day, Rep. Morrison joined fellow legislators and staff by bringing in bedding, grocery store gift cards, art supplies and other items for domestic violence service providers across the state.

“It was great to see so much support for the ICADV that is crucial to raising awareness and putting an end to domestic violence in our community,” said Rep. Morrison. “It was a privilege to assist such a worthy cause and help this wonderful organization that gives back so much in return.”

For more information on ICADV, visit


Rep. Alan Morrison represents all of Vermillion County and portions of Clay, Fountain, Parke, Vigo and Warren counties.