Rep. Gutwein given special designation by Ind. Chamber

Posted by: Kelly Sweeney  | Monday, July 16, 2012 8:00 am

STATEHOUSE – The annual Legislative Vote Analysis completed by the Indiana Chamber of Commerce ranked Rep. Doug Gutwein (R-Francesville) as having a 90 percent when it comes to legislation creating jobs in Indiana. Rep. Gutwein was also recognized by the Chamber as a legislator who deserves special recognition for his “conspicuous leadership on specific business issues of critical importance”.

"We want employers and citizens to take note of this report because it makes it very clear which legislators were supportive of bettering Indiana's economic climate and which were not," stated Indiana Chamber President Kevin Brinegar.

The Chamber’s Vote Analysis has been produced for the past 28 years after every legislative session. The legislator’s scores are determined by his or her votes on particular bills and select amendments where the outcome of those bills and amendments on the state’s economy would have an impact on Indiana businesses.

“The House Republicans have continued our efforts to improve Indiana’s economy and employment opportunities,” said Rep. Gutwein. “I am thankful for the Chamber’s recognition as we continue to make Indiana stronger.”

Over the past eight years, House Republicans have built the best toolbox in the Midwest and arguably the nation when it comes to creating a climate for job growth. Indiana was also ranked as the number one state in biosciences, in addition to having 58 companies indicate to the IEDC that Indiana’s enactment of Right to Work will be a positive factor in their decision-making process of where to locate their current projects.

“We have seen the trend of businesses relocating to or expanding in Indiana,” said Rep. Gutwein. “We will continue to work together to bring more quality job opportunities to Hoosiers.”

All scores and a full report can be viewed on the Indiana Chamber’s web site at


Rep. Doug Gutwein (R-Francesville) serves House District 16. He is the Chairman of the Employment, Labor and Pensions Committee and a member of the Agriculture and Rural Development and Veterans Affairs and Public Safety Committees.