Rep. Eberhart congratulates local family on long-standing farm

Posted by: Courtney Scott  | Friday, March 6, 2015

STATEHOUSE — State Representative Sean Eberhart (R-Shelbyville) congratulates the J. William Fear family from Bartholomew County for receiving the Hoosier Homestead Award. The award was presented by Lt. Governor Sue Ellspermann at the Indiana Statehouse.

The Hoosier Homestead Award Program recognizes farming families who have owned and operated the same farm for 100 years or more. Families who have owned a farm for 100 years were presented with centennial awards, while those with 150 and 200 years of ownership were presented with sesquicentennial and bicentennial awards.

The J. William Fear Farm, located in Bartholomew County, has been operated since 1913. They received the centennial award for 100 years of ownership.

“As a small business owner myself, I appreciate the hard work and dedication necessary to maintain a farm for over 100 years,” said Rep. Eberhart. “Through the highs and lows of the economy, this family has persevered through it all, unwavering in their commitment to Indiana’s future. I am proud to have this historic farm located right here in our community, and I am pleased to see them receive the recognition they deserve.”

The program was established in 1976 to acknowledge the contributions made by these farming families to Indiana’s economy, reputation and overall advancement. Since its inauguration, the program has recognized more than 5,000 farms for their dedication to Hoosier agriculture.

Two awards ceremonies are held each year, in the spring and summer, to commemorate the achievements of the many outstanding Hoosier farmers across the state. For more information on the Hoosier Homestead Award Program, visit