Rep. Cook congratulates local family on long-standing farm

Posted by: McKenzie Clift  | Friday, August 14, 2015

STATEHOUSE- State Representative Tony Cook (R-Cicero) congratulates Steven Osborne and family for receiving the Hoosier Homestead Award. Lt. Governor Sue Ellspermann presented the award during a ceremony in the Farm Bureau Building at the Indiana State Fair.

The Hoosier Homestead Award Program recognizes farming families that have owned and operated the same farm for 100 years or more. Centennial and sesquicentennial awards are given for 100 and 150 years of ownership, respectively. Bicentennial awards are given for 200 years of ownership.
The Osborne Farm of Hamilton County has been in operation since 1863. The family received the centennial and sesquicentennial awards.

“At a time when Indiana’s agriculture industry is rapidly advancing, the Osborne’s bicentennial achievement reminds us that Indiana’s farming roots lie in family and community,” said Rep. Cook. “I applaud their innovation and commitment to upholding our state’s rich agricultural heritage and was honored to take part in their recognition.”

“This program was established in 1976 to recognize the heritage of farming in Indiana and how Hoosier family farms have been passed down from generation to generation,” Lt. Governor Ellspermann said. “I salute our Hoosier farmers today for being part of both our state’s legacy – but more importantly, a vital part of our state’s future.”

The program was first established in 1976 to acknowledge the contributions made by long-standing farming families to Indiana’s economy, culture and overall advancement. Since the program’s inception, more than 5,000 farms have been recognized for their dedication to Hoosier agriculture.
Each year, two award ceremonies are held; one at the Statehouse in February and the other at the State Fair in August. For more information on the Hoosier Homestead Award Program or to nominate a family for the award, visit


Rep. Cook represents all of Tipton County and portions of Hamilton, Madison, Delaware, Howard and Grant counties.