Rep. Cherry honors local families for long-standing farms

Posted by: Kim Heffner  | Monday, March 9, 2015

STATEHOUSE — State Rep. Bob Cherry (R-Greenfield) congratulates the Smith-Elliott-Sells-Couch and Black families from Hancock County for receiving the Hoosier Homestead Award. The awards were presented by Lt. Governor Sue Ellspermann at the Indiana Statehouse.

The Hoosier Homestead Award Program recognizes farming families who have owned and operated the same farm for 100 years or more. Families who have owned a farm for 100 years were presented with centennial awards, while those with 150 and 200 years of ownership were presented with sesquicentennial and bicentennial awards.

The Smith-Elliott-Sells-Couch farm, located in Hancock County, has been in operation since 1909 and received a centennial award. The Black farm is also located in Hancock County and has been in operation since 1863. They received the sesquicentennial award for 150 years of ownership.

“I am honored to present awards to these deserving farm owners,” said Rep. Cherry. “It takes dedication, hard work and strong values to maintain a farm for a century or more. The commitment these farm owners exhibit is an example of Indiana’s vibrant agricultural community.”

The program was established in 1976 to acknowledge the contributions made by these farming families to Indiana’s economy, reputation and overall advancement. Since its inauguration, the program has recognized more than 5,000 farms for their dedication to Hoosier agriculture.

Two awards ceremonies are held each year, in the spring and summer, to commemorate the achievements of the many outstanding Hoosier farmers across the state. For more information on the Hoosier Homestead Award Program, visit


Rep. Cherry represents portions of Hancock and Madison counties. He serves as Vice Chairman of the Ways and Means Committee. He also serves on the Local Government Committee, Rules and Legislative Procedures Committee, Statutory Committee on Interstate and International Cooperation and Committee on Joint Rules.