[r90] Local students receive prestigious award at the Statehouse (4/15/2013)

Monday, April 15, 2013

Start Date: 4/15/2013 All Day

STATEHOUSE – State Representative Mike Speedy (R-Speedway) congratulates Amanda Feagans of Roncalli High School, Sarah Hood of Franklin Central High School, and Michaela Ullrich of Southport High School for receiving the 2013 Comcast Leaders & Achievers Scholarship today. The award recognizes high school seniors for their outstanding leadership skills, high academic performance and participation in community service projects.

“These students have demonstrated outstanding leadership, academic achievement and community service,” said Rep. Speedy. “Their exemplary achievement is commendable and I extend my sincerest congratulations.”

Beginning annually in 2000, Comcast reaches out to high school guidance counselors and principals to recognize the brightest seniors as the nation’s “leaders and achievers.” The award recipients were nominated for their extensive involvement in their schools and participation in various service projects that positively impact their communities.

Comcast has awarded over 19,000 students since 2001, approximately $19 million in scholarship funds have been distributed nationally. Feagons, Hood and Ullrich were among just 49 Hoosier students to receive the $1,000 award.

“These students exemplify the spirit of leadership and determination that promises a successful future for our young Hoosiers,” said Rep. Speedy. “I wish them all the best in their future endeavors.”

The award was presented by First Lady Karen Pence at the Indiana Statehouse.

Visit www.comcast.com for more information on the Comcast Leaders & Achievers Scholarship Program.


Speedy_Comcast Scholarship Release.docx