[R53] Rush County designated a drought disaster area (7/27/2012)

Friday, July 27, 2012

Start Date: 7/27/2012 Start Time: 12:00 AM
End Date: 7/27/2012 End Time: 11:59 PM
STATEHOUSE – Rush County, represented in part by State Reps. Bob Cherry (R-Greenfield) and Randy Frye (R-Greensburg), has been designated a primary disaster area by the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA). On Wednesday, the USDA added 14 Indiana counties to the existing list of 50 primary natural disaster areas which includes Hancock and Shelby counties.

The USDA also designated 16 contiguous counties including Decatur County. In all, 80 Indiana counties now qualify for assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA).

“This drought is one of the most severe to date,” said Rep. Frye. “The effects are being felt far beyond the agricultural community. We are all hoping and praying to see some relief in sight.” 

According to the USDA, farmers in both primary and contiguous counties have eight months from the designation date to apply for emergency loan assistance from the FSA. The FSA will take into account the extent of production losses, security available and repayment ability when determining eligibility.

“I understand the impact of the drought in our community,” said Rep. Cherry. “I want farmers to be aware of what resources are available to help them deal with the drought conditions.”

Farmers are urged to contact their local FSA office for more information or visit www.in.gov/drought.


Rush Co Drought_NewsRelease.doc