[r47] Rep. Foley Honors Martinsville Students (2/9/2012)

Thursday, February 9, 2012

Start Date: 2/9/2012
End Date: 2/9/2012

Hendricks County

Johnson County

Morgan County

Owen County

Rep. Foley Honors Martinsville Students 

STATEHOUSE — Rep. Ralph Foley (R-Martinsville) presented a resolution on the House floor today honoring the Spell Bowl teams of Martinsville High School and East Middle School. 

“The students and the coaches from these schools have consistently demonstrated an uncanny ability to elevate the level of academics at their schools,” said Rep. Foley. “Dedication and hard work set the foundation for their success, and today, we recognize their great achievements.”

In November, the Martinsville High School Spell Bowl team took first place in the 2011 Spell Bowl State Finals at Purdue University; the team achieved a perfect score of 90. The recent victory marks the ninth first place finish for the team and the eighteenth consecutive year of placing either first or second.

The East Middle School Spell Bowl team placed second falling just two point shorts of the first place Thomas Jefferson Middle School squad. This was the seventh time East Middle School spellers have been the runner-ups in the Spell Bowl State Finals. The team of eight consisted of only three veteran players.    
The Martinsville team is coached by Wayne Babbitt and the East team by his wife, Jenny Babbitt. Wayne Babbitt also coaches the Academic Decathlon at Martinsville High School.

“The coaches continue to go above and beyond their call of duty by training their teams with as high of frequency and vigor as any athletic program,” said Rep. Foley. “Wayne and Jenny Babbit are the kind of academic instructors that make a positive lifelong impact on their students.”

The Martinsville High School Spell Bowl team consists of Allison Cox, Christa Cheatham, Steven Fish, Evan Like, Danielle McDougal, Jake Mock, Isaac Mock, Michele Poindexter, Stephanie Schneck, Casey Whitaker and Olivia Wooten. 

The East Middle School team included Ali Wilt, Eli Mock, Zackary Swoboda, Olivia Herbert, Kaitlin Gephart, Libby Scott, Joseph McGuire and Larry Kresse.


Attached is a picture of Rep. Foley presenting the House Resolution recognizing the Spell Bowl teams from Martinsville High School and East Middle School. 

2-9-2012 Resolutions 026.jpg