[r44] Medal of Honor recipient honored with House resolution (1/27/2014)

Monday, January 27, 2014

Start Date: 1/27/2014 All Day
End Date: 1/27/2014

STATEHOUSE — On Tuesday, State Representatives Jim Baird (R- Greencastle) and Bob Heaton (R- Terre Haute) will present a resolution to honor Indiana’s only living Medal of Honor recipient, Sammy Lee Davis. The ceremony will take place at 1:30 p.m. in the House Chamber at the Statehouse in Indianapolis.

WHAT: A  ceremony to honor Sammy Lee Davis with Reps. Heaton and Baird
WHEN: Tuesday, Jan. 28 at 1:30 p.m.
WHERE: Indiana Statehouse, 200 W. Washington St. in Indianapolis

Since the Medal of Honor was first presented in 1863, more than 3,400 individuals have received the prestigious award but only 78 are still alive today –including Davis. On Nov. 19, 1968, President Lyndon B. Johnson presented Davis with the award for “conspicuous gallantry and intrepidity” during the Vietnam Conflict.

For more information, please contact Rep. Heaton at h46@iga.in.gov or Rep. Baird at h44@iga.in.gov. For media inquiries, please contact Ben Gavelek or Katharine Beideck at 317-234-9290 or ben.gavelek@iga.in.gov.


Reps. Heaton and Baird Medal of Honor recipient honored with House resolution.docx