[r32] General Assembly to Hold Public Meetings on Redistricting (3/21/2011)

Monday, March 21, 2011

Start Date: 3/21/2011 All Day
End Date: 3/21/2011
STATEHOUSE - Members of the General Assembly announced it will conduct a series of public meetings this weekend to get feedback on redrawing the Indiana political maps.

The meetings will be divided into groups - North, South, and Central - with the northern group meetings being in Lafayette and Crown Point on Friday and in Elkhart and Fort Wayne on Saturday. In addition, the southern group will have meetings in Terre Haute and Evansville on Friday and Jeffersonville and Columbus on Saturday. Information regarding the Central meeting will be made public at a later date.

"We want this process to be as open and transparent as possible," said Rep. Eric Turner (R-Cicero). "In the past there have been some concerns about how districts are redrawn, and the public has expressed those concerns. These public meetings will allow people to give their input and receive insight on what has been a private process."

Indiana is required to redraw its districts for the U.S. House of Representatives, the Indiana House of Representatives and Indiana Senate following the nationwide census every 10 years.
Below is a complete list of the meetings:

North Group
Lafayette -- 10 a.m. to noon Friday at Faith Baptist Community Center
Crown Point -- 3 p.m. to 5 p.m. Friday at Crown Point High School Auditorium
Elkhart -- 10 a.m. to noon Saturday at Memorial High School Auditorium
Fort Wayne -- 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday at 900 Library Plaza

South Group
Terre Haute -- 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. Friday at the Rose-Hulman Myers Room
Evansville -- 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. Friday at Ivy Tech
Jeffersonville -- 10 a.m. to noon Saturday at Jeffersonville High School
Columbus -- 2:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. Saturday at Columbus East High School

"I encourage the public to attend a meeting and share their concerns and ideas regarding the redistricting process," said Rep. Turner.


Rep. Turner is the Speaker Pro Tempore and represents District 32 in the Indiana House of Representatives.