[R31] Blackford County designated a drought disaster area (7/26/2012)

Thursday, July 26, 2012

Indiana Primary and Contiguous Disaster Counties (07/25/12)
Start Date: 7/26/2012 Start Time: 12:00 AM
End Date: 7/26/2012 End Time: 11:59 PM

STATEHOUSE – Blackford County, represented by Rep. Kevin Mahan (R-Hartford City), has been designated a primary disaster area by the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA). On Wednesday, the USDA added 14 Indiana counties to the existing list of 50 primary natural disaster areas.

The USDA also designated 16 contiguous counties. In all, 80 Indiana counties now qualify for assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA).

“I was born and raised in Blackford County, so I empathize with the farmers in our community,” said Rep. Mahan. “I want farmers to be aware of what resources are available to them to deal with the drought conditions.”

According to the USDA, farmers in both primary and contiguous counties have eight months from the designation date to apply for emergency loan assistance from the FSA. The FSA will take into account the extent of production losses, security available and repayment ability when determining eligibility.

Farmers are urged to contact their local FSA office for more information or visit www.in.gov/drought/.


Rep. Kevin Mahan serves House District 31. He also serves as Chairman of the Government and Regulatory Reform Committee, and as member of the Insurance and the Veterans Affairs and Public Safety Committees.

Mahan Blackford Co Drought_NewsRelease.doc