[R24] White County designated a drought disaster area (7/27/2012)

Friday, July 27, 2012

Start Date: 7/27/2012 Start Time: 12:00 AM
End Date: 7/27/2012 End Time: 11:59 PM
STATEHOUSE – White County, represented by State Reps. Don Lehe (R-Brookston), Doug Gutwein (R-Francesville) and Rich McClain (R-Logansport), has been designated a primary disaster area by the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA). On Wednesday, the USDA added 14 Indiana counties to the existing list of 50 primary natural disaster areas.

“This drought is one of the most severe on record and has created adversities for many hard working Hoosiers,” said Rep. Gutwein. “It has greatly impacted the agricultural community along with many other industries.”

The USDA also designated 16 contiguous counties. In all, 80 Indiana counties now qualify for assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA).

“I empathize with farmers in our community,” said Rep. McClain. “I want farmers to be aware of what resources are available to them to deal with the drought conditions.”

According to the USDA, farmers in both primary and contiguous counties have eight months from the designation date to apply for emergency loan assistance from the FSA. The FSA will take into account the extent of production losses, security available and repayment ability when determining eligibility.

“Farmers have been some of hardest hit by the drought conditions,” said Rep. Lehe. “Farmers who have felt the effects of the drought should take advantage of the help provided by the USDA.”

Farmers are urged to contact their local FSA office for more information or visit www.in.gov/drought.


White Co Drought_NewsRelease.doc