[r24] Reps. Gutwein, Lehe and McClain Encourage Residents (2/6/2008)

Wednesday, February 6, 2008

Start Date: 2/6/2008 All Day
End Date: 2/6/2008

Rep. Eric Gutwein (R-Rensselaer), Rep. Don Lehe (R-Brookston) and Rep. Rich McClain (R-Logansport) today encouraged residents in Jasper, Tippecanoe, Carroll, Pulaski, Fulton, Cass and White counties to visit a Disaster Recovery Center if they were affected by the recent and ongoing flooding.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency, U.S. Small Business Administration and the Indiana Department of Homeland Security set up these centers in response to the severe storms and flooding that have hit the area.

"Our communities have endured a terrible situation in recent weeks, but help is starting to come our way," said Rep. McClain. "I urge all those whose homes and properties sustained flood damage to check in at a Disaster Recovery Center, where they can receive assistance."

Victims of the storm may apply for assistance immediately by calling, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). The toll-free number will be in operation from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. (local time) every day. Those with speech or hearing impairment may call TTY 1-800-462-7585.  Registration can also be done online anytime at http://www.fema.gov/. Two mobile centers also are available.

"My sympathies go out to all those who have suffered damages from the flood during these past few weeks," said Rep. Lehe. "With federal assistance now in place, I encourage all residents affected by the flood to utilize these centers. These centers will provide information on how to register for assistance and disaster loan applications, as well as, contact information for other programs that may be able to help.

A disaster was declared Jan. 30 for the Indiana floods, enabling FEMA and other federal agencies to provide aid to affected areas.

"The floods have devastated many of our communities," said Rep. Gutwein. "I am pleased to see that federal assistance is now being provided to residents affected by the flood.  If you are in need of help, I strongly recommend that you visit the nearest recovery center."

Disaster Recovery Centers are at these locations and are open from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. every day:


Carroll County: Delphi Middle School Gym

210 High St.

Delphi, IN 46923


Jasper County: Remington Public Library

105 N. Ohio St.

Remington, IN 47977


WHITE COUNTY: White County EMA Office

315 N. Illinois St.

Monticello, IN 47960



FEMA/SBA MOBILE Disaster Recovery Centers

HOURS: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. (local time) Wednesday, Feb. 6, through Sunday, Feb. 10.


Elkhart County: Elkhart Township Fire Department, Station No. 3

116 S. Greene Road

Goshen, IN 46526



821 E. Ninth St.

Rochester, IN 46975