[r13] House Page Program now accepting applications for 2015 session

Posted by: Zach Weismiller  | Tuesday, December 30, 2014

STATEHOUSE — State Representative Sharon Negele (R-Attica) is encouraging Hoosier students to apply for the Indiana House Page Program. The program offers students 13 to 18 years old the chance to visit the Statehouse and see a full day of legislative activity.

“Participating in the House Page Program is an incredible opportunity for students to gain hands-on experience and firsthand knowledge of what takes place throughout session,” said Rep. Negele. “I look forward to welcoming pages from our community to the Statehouse.”

In addition to visiting the Statehouse, pages have the opportunity to tour locations like Governor Pence’s office, the Indiana Supreme Court and both the House and Senate chambers to list a few. Pages also have the opportunity observe floor sessions and committee meetings as well as help legislative staff members. Students who serve as pages are excused from school for the day and are responsible for their own transportation to and from the Statehouse. 

With spots filling up fast, students who are interested in the Page Program are highly encouraged to schedule their visit quickly. Students are asked to include two separate dates to visit. Those dates should be between the first weeks of January through April. Recommended days to serve include Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays when the House is in session. There are no pages on Fridays.

“Every year, it is a pleasure to meet the pages from west central Indiana and see their eagerness to learn more about the legislative process,” said Rep. Negele. “I encourage Hoosier students to apply as soon as possible since spots tend to fill up quickly.” 

For more information or to sign up, please visit www.in.gov/legislative/house_republicans/off_cms/page.html or call 1-800-382-9841.


Rep. Negele represents a portion of Benton, Fountain, Jasper, Montgomery, Newton, Tippecanoe, Warren and White counties. She serves on the Ways and Means and Financial Institutions committees.