Over $740K to fuel Warren County road projects

Posted by: Jessica Bruder  | Friday, October 11, 2019

STATEHOUSE (Oct. 11, 2019) – Warren County was recently awarded $740,153 in state matching grants to accelerate road and bridge improvements, according to State Rep. Alan Morrison (R-Brazil) and Sharon Negele (R-Attica).

Nearly $100 million was awarded to Indiana cities, towns and counties through the Community Crossings Matching Grant program, which is now in its fourth year. The grants are made available through the Indiana Department of Transportation as a result of a law Morrison and Negele supported in 2016, and funded through the state budget.

“For Indiana to live up to its motto as the Crossroads of America, we must make our transportation infrastructure a priority,” Morrison said. “These grants are critical to communities being able to properly maintain their roads and bridges.”

Negele said grant funding can be used toward road and bridge preservation, road reconstruction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage. Smaller municipalities must provide a match of 25% in local funds, while large communities must provide a 50% match.

“The Community Crossings program is an incredible opportunity for communities throughout the entire state to take action on road projects they may not otherwise have the funds for,” Negele said. “Our infrastructure requires constant upkeep, and through this local and state partnership, the unique needs of our cities and towns can be met.” 

Since 2017, state road investment is up 50% as Indiana has dedicated $3 billion to road and bridge projects across the state.

More information about the program and recipients can be found at www.in.gov/indot.


State Rep. Alan Morrison (R-Brazil) represents House District 42,which includes all of
Vermillion County and portions of Clay,Fountain, Parke, Vigo and Warren counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Sharon Negele (R-Attica) represents House District 13, which includes all of Benton County, 
and portions of Fountain, Jasper, Montgomery, Newton, Tippecanoe, Warren and White counties. 
here for a high-resolution photo.