Over $500,000 to fuel Clay County road projects

Posted by: Wade Coggeshall  | Thursday, October 10, 2019

STATEHOUSE (Oct. 10, 2019) – Clay County was recently awarded over $500,000 in state matching grants to accelerate road and bridge improvements, according to State Reps. Beau Baird (R-Greencastle) and Alan Morrison (R-Brazil).

Nearly $100 million was awarded to Indiana cities, towns and counties through the Community Crossings Matching Grant program, which is now in its fourth year. The grants are made available through the Indiana Department of Transportation as a result of a law Morrison supported in 2016, and funded through the state budget.

“For Indiana to live up to its motto as the Crossroads of America, we need to make our transportation infrastructure a priority,” Morrison said. “These grants are critical to communities being able to properly maintain their roads and bridges.”

Several communities in the area were awarded grants, including:

  • Carbon, $134,160;
  • Harmony, $103,531;
  • Knightsville, $170,100; and
  • Staunton, $132,772.

Grant funding can be used toward road and bridge preservation, road reconstruction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage. Smaller municipalities must provide a match of 25% in local funds, while large communities must provide a 50% match.

“There’s a reason why Indiana is ranked as one of the top states for infrastructure,” Baird said. “House lawmakers have made an effort to ensure our roads and bridges are safe and convenient for Hoosiers and those traveling through our state.”

Since 2017, state road investment is up 50% as Indiana has dedicated $3 billion to road and bridge projects across the state.

More information about the program and recipients can be found at www.in.gov/indot


State Rep. Beau Baird (R-Greencastle) represents House District 44, which includes
all of Putnam County and portions of Clay, Morgan, Owen and Parke counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Alan Morrison (R-Brazil) represents House District 42,
which includes all of Vermillion County and portions of Clay,
Fountain, Parke, Vigo and Warren counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.