Over $1.3M to fuel Newton County road projects

Posted by: Jessica Bruder  | Thursday, October 10, 2019

STATEHOUSE (Oct. 10, 2019) – Newton County communities were recently awarded over $1.3 million in state matching grants to accelerate road and bridge improvements, according to State Reps. Doug Gutwein (R-Francesville) and Sharon Negele (R-Attica).

Nearly $100 million was awarded to Indiana cities, towns and counties through the Community Crossings Matching Grant program, which is now in its fourth year. The grants are made available through the Indiana Department of Transportation as a result of a law Gutwein and Negele supported in 2016, and funded through the state budget.

“Over the last few years, Indiana has made significant investments to improve our roads and bridges across the state,” Gutwein said. “As a result, we were recently ranked first in the country for infrastructure. We will continue to work to improve our roads and communities, and build for the future.”

As part of the program, Newton County received $1 million, and the town of Kentland received $302,260 for local road projects.

Negele said grant funding can be used toward road and bridge preservation, road reconstruction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage. Smaller municipalities must provide a match of 25% in local funds, while large communities must provide a 50% match.

“The Community Crossings program is an incredible opportunity for communities throughout the entire state to take action on road projects they may not otherwise have the funds for,” Negele said. “Our infrastructure requires constant upkeep, and through this local and state partnership, the unique needs of our cities and towns can be met.” 

Since 2017, state road investment is up 50% as Indiana has dedicated $3 billion to road and bridge projects across the state.

More information about the program and recipients can be found at www.in.gov/indot.


State Rep. Douglas Gutwein (R-Francesville) represents House District 16, which
includes all of Pulaski County and portions of Fulton, Jasper, Newton and Starke counties.
here for a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Sharon Negele (R-Attica) represents House District 13, which includes all of Benton County, 
and portions of Fountain, Jasper, Montgomery, Newton, Tippecanoe, Warren and White counties. 
here for a high-resolution photo.