Ober: Youth suicide prevention bill signed into law

Posted by: Brenda Holmes  | Friday, April 28, 2017

STATEHOUSE (April 28, 2017) — Gov. Eric Holcomb signed into law a proposal co-authored by State Rep. Dave Ober (R-Albion) to decrease the number of youth suicides in Indiana.

“Our community has been impacted by youth suicide and those families are still healing,” Ober said. “It is imperative we do something to better prepare parents, schools, counselors, first respondents and the medical community to identify young people who may be contemplating self-harm. Our friends and neighbors were in mind when this legislation was written.”

In 2015, suicide was the fourth-leading cause of death for youth under the age of 14 and the second-leading cause of death for youth ages 15 to 24 in Indiana since 2009, according to the Indiana State Department of Health. Reports show that in 2015, 49 of Indiana’s 92 counties had at least one young person die by suicide.

“These troublesome statistics can become a thing of the past if we work together to help our young people,” Ober said.

According to the Indiana Youth Institute, the leading cause of child and young adult deaths in Indiana are accidents, typically motor vehicle accidents, followed by homicide and suicide.

House Enrolled Act 1430 includes several provisions:

  • Requires training for school staff on youth suicide;
  • Creates a state suicide prevention coordinator;
  • Develops training for healthcare providers;
  • Requires schools to create policies and student education on suicide; and
  • Requires public and private higher education institutions to develop and implement policies to advise students and staff on suicide prevention programs.

Ober said providing evidence-based suicide prevention and intervention training to school staff members will help identify those individuals who may be contemplating self-injury.

House Enrolled Act 1430 will go into effect on July 1. For more information on this new law, visit iga.in.gov.


State Rep. Dave Ober represents all of Noble County and portions

of Allen, Elkhart, LaGrange and Whitley counties.


A high-resolution photo of Ober can be downloaded by clicking here.