Negele, Morrison: State awards nearly $700K to help drive local road projects

Posted by: Wade Coggeshall and Josh DeFonce  | Tuesday, May 4, 2021

STATEHOUSE (May 4, 2021) – Indiana recently awarded nearly $700,000 in state matching grants for local road and bridge improvements, according to State Reps. Sharon Negele (R-Attica) and Alan Morrison (R-Brazil).

Through the Community Crossings Matching Grant program, 218 Hoosier cities, towns and counties received a combined total of over $100 million. This program was established in 2016 and expanded a year later in 2017 through laws Negele supported. The Indiana Department of Transportation oversees and distributes these grants twice each year. 

"These grants help local government complete ongoing and future infrastructure projects, which contributes to economic growth," Negele said. "Maintaining our roads and bridges sends a message to job creators that Indiana is open for business and attracts companies to our state."

Warren County received $561,735, and Covington received $136,337 for local road and bridge projects.

Morrison said communities can use these funds for road and bridge preservation, road reconstruction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage. Smaller municipalities must provide a 25 percent match in local funds, while large communities must provide a 50 percent match.

"There has been tremendous progress over the last five years in updating and maintaining our local roads," Morrison said. "This program has helped communities throughout the state complete infrastructure projects much faster."

More than $931 million in total has been awarded throughout the state since 2016. State law requires that 50 percent of the available matching funds be awarded annually to communities within counties with a population of 50,000 or fewer. 

More information about the program and recipients can be found online at The next call for projects through Community Crossings will open in July 2021.


State Rep. Sharon Negele (R-Attica) represents House District 13, which includes all of Benton County, 
and portions of Fountain, Jasper, Montgomery, Newton, Tippecanoe, Warren and White counties. 
here for a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Alan Morrison (R-Brazil) represents House District 42,
which includes all of Vermillion County and portions of Clay,
Fountain, Parke, Vigo and Warren counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.