Negele: High schoolers can tutor younger students, earn credit

Posted by: Josh DeFonce  | Tuesday, September 1, 2020 1:25 am

STATEHOUSE (Sept. 1, 2020) – This new school year, State Rep. Sharon Negele (R-Attica) said there are opportunities for high school juniors and seniors to tutor young students in order to fulfill graduation requirements.

Negele said students can experience some form of learning loss over summer break, meaning they do not retain some of the lessons they learned the previous school year, but most are typically able to relearn these lessons quickly. However, because students participated in remote- or e-learning due to COVID-19, a recent NWEA report estimates some children could begin the 2020-2021 school year up to nearly a full grade level behind their peers in some subject areas. To help bridge this gap, Negele said schools can implement the Indiana Department of Education's newly developed Indiana Tutoring Fellowship, which will fulfill the Service-Based Learning Experience under Graduation Pathway Requirement #2.

"Students have a great opportunity to tutor younger kids and help them with their schoolwork," Negele said. "This not only assists students who are in need of extra support, but gives the tutors credit toward their graduation."

To be eligible to participate in this program, Negele said students must be a high school junior or senior, maintain at least a 3.0 GPA and be in good behavioral standing. The IDOE recommends tutoring sessions take place virtually, but if students are permitted to meet face-to-face, social distancing must be followed. Tutors will work with students in kindergarten through eighth grade.

Negele supported the 2017 law creating Indiana's graduation pathways, which allows students to pursue opportunities that best meet their education and career goals. 

To implement a tutoring program, schools can apply for a federal grant through the CARES Act. Applications are due by 4 p.m., Sept. 4, and can be found online at

Visit for more information.  



State Rep. Sharon Negele (R-Attica) represents House District 13,
which includes all of Benton County, and portions of Fountain, Jasper,
Montgomery, Newton, Tippecanoe, Warren and White counties. 
here for a high-resolution photo.