Morrison: Safety at recreational facilities legislation signed into law

Posted by: Jessica Baker  | Thursday, May 7, 2015

STATEHOUSE – State Representative Alan Morrison (R-Terre Haute) authored legislation to increase safety for individuals who utilize recreational facilities at an elementary, secondary or postsecondary school. House Enrolled Act (HEA) 1045 was recently signed into law by the governor.

“There are close to 2,000 schools across our state, and their recreational facilities are used by students, parents, teachers and even members of the community,” said Rep. Morrison. “It is important that users of these facilities are knowledgeable and understand the expectations when using the equipment, as well as some of the risks involved, and I was proud to author legislation working towards this goal.”

HEA 1045 gives Indiana’s educational institutions the option forgo a waiver process if they choose to post three signs in visible locations that would outline the duties of the recreational user as well as the duties, obligations and liabilities of the institution. Another condition of the law would also require educational institutions to maintain equipment to ensure that it is in good mechanical condition.

Additionally, HEA 1145 outlines the duties and responsibilities of those who use and operate a recreational facility operated by an elementary, secondary or postsecondary educational institution. It also specifies that the operator of such recreational facility, who fulfills the duties outlined by the legislation, has a complete defense to a civil action, if an injury would occur on their property.

“We want to encourage all students, teachers and members of the communities to utilize the recreational facilities. Under this law, we are ensuring that certain precautions are taking place so that these facilities offer a safe environment that all Hoosiers can enjoy,” said Rep. Morrison.

Visit to learn more about this law.


Rep. Alan Morrison represents all of Vermillion County and portions of Clay, Fountain, Parke, Vigo and Warren counties. He serves as the Vice Chairman of the Agriculture and Rural Development Committee and is a member of Natural Resources and Utilities and Energy Committees.