Morrison: Future educator scholarship awarded to local students

Posted by: Brenda Holmes  | Wednesday, May 2, 2018

STATEHOUSE (May 2, 2018) — Several students in Clay, Parke and Vermillion counties planning to pursue a career in education were selected to receive the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to State Rep. Alan Morrison (R-Brazil).

Morrison, who supported legislation creating this scholarship program, said the scholarship is awarded to top-performing students who commit to teaching in Indiana for five consecutive years. Recipients will receive $7,500 per year for up to four years to obtain a teaching license.

“The Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship was created to encourage Indiana’s top-performing students to enter the field of education,” Morrison said. “I would like to congratulate the winners and I look forward to how they make a difference in the lives of children and our community.”

The Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20 percent of their high school class or earn a score in the top-20th percentile on the SAT or ACT. Morrison said in order for students to continue receiving the scholarship in college, students must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year.

More than 500 students applied, and 200 scholarships were recently awarded to highly qualified students across the state, including these recipients from Clay, Parke and Vermillion:

Clay County

  • Allison Pell, Northview High School, Indiana State University;

Parke County

  • Morgan Dugger, Rockville Jr./Sr. High School, Saint Mary-Of-The-Woods College;

Vermillion County

  • Rachel Luft, South Vermillion High School, Indiana State University; and
  • Lindsey McConnaughey, South Vermillion High School, Indiana State University.

“We’re encouraged to have so many driven, passionate students applying for this teacher scholarship, and we look forward to the positive impact they will have in classrooms and school communities across Indiana,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers.

The 2019-2020 application will be available beginning in the fall. Visit for more information.


State Rep. Alan Morrison (R-Brazil) represents House District 42, which includes all of Vermillion County and portions of Clay, Fountain, Parke, Vigo and Warren counties.

A high-resolution photo of Morrison can be downloaded by clicking