Montgomery County farms recognized with Hoosier Homestead awards

Posted by: Courtney E Heiden  | Thursday, March 11, 2021

STATEHOUSE (March 11, 2021) – A pair of longstanding Montgomery County farms recently received Hoosier Homestead awards for being in operation for 150 years, according to local legislators.  

The Davidson Farm, located in New Ross and in operation since 1837, received a Hoosier Homestead Sesquicentennial Award. Located in Darlington, the Schoen Farm has been in operation since 1870 and received Hoosier Homestead Centennial and Sesquicentennial awards.

"In Montgomery County, we are fortunate to have such a strong agricultural heritage," said State Rep. Tim Brown (R-Crawfordsville). "These farm families are a testament to hard work, perseverance and determination. They have stood the test of time for over 150 years, and I wish them continued success for many more years to come."

The families were among 51 farms recognized at the Indiana State Museum for their commitment to Indiana agriculture.

"Family farms are an essential part of our community and state, and it is important for us to recognize the contributions they have made – and continue to make – in Hoosier agriculture," said State Sen. Phil Boots (R-Crawfordsville). "I congratulate the Davidson Farm and the Schoen Farm on their continued persistence and this significant achievement."

"We appreciate and thank these hardworking families for their commitment to agriculture and their heritage," Negele said. "Their continued dedication to the agriculture industry for more than a century makes a tremendous impact on our state and local economies."

The Hoosier Homestead Award Program recognizes farms that have been owned and maintained by the same family for 100 years or more. Families can qualify for centennial, sesquicentennial or bicentennial awards.

Each year, two awards ceremonies are held in the spring and summer commemorating the achievements of farm families across the state. For more information on the Hoosier Homestead Award Program, visit


State Sen. Phil Boots (Crawfordsville) represents Senate District 23,
which includes all of Fountain, Montgomery, Parke, Vermillion,
and Warren counties and a portion of Boone County.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Tim Brown (R-Crawfordsville) represents House District 41,
which includes portions of Boone, Montgomery and Tippecanoe counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Sharon Negele (R-Attica) represents House District 13,
which includes all of Benton County, and portions of Fountain, Jasper,
Montgomery, Newton, Tippecanoe, Warren and White counties. 
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.