Montgomery County communities awarded over $1.4M for road projects

Posted by: Courtney Heiden  | Wednesday, December 16, 2020

STATEHOUSE (Dec. 16, 2020) – Local communities recently received more than $1.4 million in state matching grants for road and bridge improvements, according to Montgomery County legislators.   

Over 240 Indiana cities, towns and counties received a combined total of more than $101 million through the Community Crossings Matching Grant program, which was created in 2016 and expanded in 2017 through laws co-authored by State Rep. Tim Brown (R-Crawfordsville). Grants are made available through the Indiana Department of Transportation.

"Safe and functioning infrastructure is key to supporting and growing our economy, and these investments signal to job creators throughout the world that Indiana is a great place to set up shop," said Brown, chair of the House Ways and Means Committee. "We are serious about ensuring Indiana thrives, and dependable roads and bridges are an important part of that equation and our continued success."

Montgomery County received $872,158 for local road and bridge projects. In addition, Crawfordsville was awarded $312,080, and Ladoga was awarded $240,000.

State Rep. Sharon Negele (R-Attica), who also voted to establish and expand the program, said this funding can be used for road and bridge preservation, road reconstruction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage. Smaller municipalities must provide a 25 percent match in local funds, while large communities must provide a 50 percent match.

"The Community Crossings program helps local governments receive additional funds needed to complete ongoing and future infrastructure projects," Negele said. "These projects help create good paying jobs and entice businesses to move to our community. By investing in better roads and bridges, we are building reliable infrastructure that contributes to our economic growth and vitality."

She said in total, more than $830 million has been distributed for local road projects through the Community Crossings program. State law requires annually that 50 percent of the available matching funds be awarded to communities within counties with a population of 50,000 or fewer. 

More information about the program and recipients can be found online at  


State Rep. Tim Brown (R-Crawfordsville) represents House District 41,
which includes portions of Boone, Montgomery and Tippecanoe counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Sharon Negele (R-Attica) represents House District 13,
which includes all of Benton County, and portions of Fountain, Jasper,
Montgomery, Newton, Tippecanoe, Warren and White counties. 
here to download a high-resolution photo.