Lyness, Ziemke: Help available to farmers who suffered losses due to pandemic

Posted by: Randy Spieth  | Friday, June 12, 2020 1:30 pm

STATEHOUSE (June 12, 2020) — Local farmers and agricultural producers directly impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic can apply for financial assistance through the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Coronavirus Food Assistance Program, according to State Reps. Randy Lyness (R-West Harrison) and Cindy Ziemke (R-Batesville).

Lyness said the initiative is providing $16 billion in direct relief payments for those in the agriculture industry experiencing income losses as a result of decreased demand for their products.

"Many small businesses have been impacted by this public health emergency, including our hardworking farmers," Lyness said. "They've provided food for our families for generations, and now they may need some help during this trying time."

To be eligible for assistance, producers of agricultural commodities must have experienced at least a 5% price decline or had losses due to market supply chain disruptions due to COVID-19 and face additional significant market costs. According to Ziemke, eligible products include specialty and non-specialty crops, wool, livestock and dairy.

"Indiana's farmers grow a variety of products to feed Hoosiers and the nation," Ziemke said. "Farmers should consider this program as a way to help them recover from the losses they are experiencing."

Applications for the Coronavirus Food Assistance Program are open through Aug. 28 and available through the Farm Service Agency at local USDA Service Centers. For more information including eligibility requirements and finding local service centers, visit

Additionally, the USDA is supporting agricultural producers by purchasing $3 billion in fresh produce, dairy and meat to be distributed to food banks, community and faith-based organizations, and other nonprofits who serve those in need.


State Rep. Randy Lyness (R-West Harrison) represents House District 68, which includes
all of Union County and portions of Franklin and Dearborn counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Cindy Ziemke (R-Batesville) represents House District 55, which includes 
all of Fayette County and portions of Decatur, Franklin, Ripley and Rush counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo of Ziemke.