Lyness, Ziemke announce local students receive $7,500 teaching scholarships

Posted by: Randy Spieth  | Friday, April 24, 2020

STATEHOUSE (April 24, 2020) — Several area students pursuing a career in education recently received the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to State Reps. Randy Lyness (R-West Harrison) and Cindy Ziemke (R-Batesville).

The statewide program awards scholarships to top-performing students who commit to teaching in Indiana for at least five years. Recipients receive $7,500 per year for up to four years of college to obtain a teaching license. The program began in 2017 thanks to legislation the legislators supported.

“It is great to see local students get rewarded for their hard work in the classroom," Lyness said. "To top it off, these students want to go on to lead the next wave of students and serve Indiana schools."

According to Ziemke, the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20% of their high school class or earn a score in the top-20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

"These scholarship recipients have shown they are dedicated to their own education," Ziemke said. "That commitment will continue when they pursue their teaching licenses in college and when they lead their own classrooms."

More than 350 students applied and several scholarships were recently awarded to local students:

  • Charles Laymon, Batesville High School, Indiana University Bloomington;
  • Kylie McPherson, Franklin County High School, Indiana University East;
  • Sarah Price, Oldenburg Academy, Purdue University West Lafayette; and
  • Kari Reer, Batesville High School, Marian University.

Recipients must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year in order to continue receiving the four-year renewable scholarship totaling $30,000.

“Congratulations to all 200 students, who are on their way to becoming impactful, future Hoosier teachers,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers. “We know these students have the passion and determination to make a difference in classrooms across the state.”

The 2020-2021 application will be available in the fall. Visit for more information.


State Rep. Randy Lyness (R-West Harrison) represents House District 68, which includes
all of Union County and portions of Franklin and Dearborn counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Cindy Ziemke (R-Batesville) represents House District 55, which includes
all of Fayette County and portions of Decatur, Ripley and Rush counties.
Click here for a high-resolution photo of Ziemke.