Local farms recognized with Hoosier Homestead awards

Posted by: Abrahm Hurt  | Thursday, March 11, 2021

STATEHOUSE (March 11, 2021) – Longstanding Franklin and Rush County farms were recently presented  Hoosier Homestead awards for being in operation for 100 years or more, according to local legislators.

"Farming is an important aspect of Indiana's rich history and economy," said State Rep. Randy Lyness (R-West Harrison). "It takes hard work and dedication to maintain a family farm for several years, let alone a century. Indiana's agriculture is thriving and in a strong place because of these families." 

A Hoosier Homestead Centennial Award was presented to the Coffey Farm in Franklin County, which has been in operation since 1918, and Centennial and Sesquicentennial awards were given to the Laker Farm of Franklin County, which has been operating since 1856. A Sesquicentennial Award was also presented to the Kehl Farm in Rush County, which has operated since 1845.

"Owning a farm for over 100 years is an impressive achievement that deserves to be recognized and celebrated," said State Rep. Cindy Ziemke (R-Batesville). "Hoosier family farms serve as the foundation of Indiana's agricultural history, and they continue to play a vital role in the success of our economy."

The families were among 51 farms recognized at the Indiana State Museum for their commitment to Indiana agriculture. 

The Hoosier Homestead Award Program recognizes farms that have been owned and maintained by the same family for 100 years or more. Families can qualify for centennial, sesquicentennial or bicentennial awards. 

"With more than 56,000 farming operations in Indiana, it is farms like these that make Indiana the eighth-largest agricultural exporter and tenth-largest farming state in the nation," said State Sen. Jean Leising (R-Oldenburg). "I commend our award recipients for their historic accomplishments and for all they do to better Indiana and our local communities."

Each year, two awards ceremonies are held in the spring and summer commemorating the achievements of farm families across the state. For more information on the Hoosier Homestead Award Program, visit in.gov/isda/2337.htm.


State Sen. Jean Leising represents Senate District 42, which includes all of Rush County
and portions of Decatur, Fayette, Franklin, Henry, Ripley and Shelby counties.
A high-resolution photo of State Sen. Leising is available by clicking here.  

State Rep. Randy Lyness (R-West Harrison) represents House District 68, which includes
all of Union County and portions of Franklin and Dearborn counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Cindy Ziemke (R-Batesville) represents House District 55, which includes 
all of Fayette County and portions of Decatur, Franklin, Ripley and Rush counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo.