Kirchhofer: Tuition assistance for tomorrow’s teachers

Posted by: Emily Gaylord  | Thursday, November 3, 2016

Teachers play a vital role in helping students achieve success. Because of the impact quality educators have on the lives of our children, the Indiana General Assembly recently established The Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship. The Indiana Commission for Higher Education launched the scholarship last month and is currently accepting applications. It is designed to incentivize our best and brightest high school graduates to pursue degrees in teaching and then work in Indiana’s classrooms.

Both incoming and current college students studying education in Indiana are eligible. The scholarship awards up to $7,500 per year toward college costs to those who commit to teaching in Indiana schools for five years upon graduating.

The scholarship is available to 200 students statewide each year who either graduate in the top 20 percent of their high school class or earn a score in the top 20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

While in college, students must maintain a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year to continue receiving the grant. Graduates must obtain their teaching license and teach in Indiana for five consecutive years to meet their full obligation.

Students can visit for more information and to submit an application before the Dec. 31 deadline.

Students interested in applying must be nominated by a teacher and submit their nomination form to the Indiana Commission for Higher Education.

Through this program, we can both encourage and enable our high-achieving students to enter the teaching field without the fear of heavy college debt. Our communities and classrooms will benefit greatly by keeping our top talent right here in Indiana.

As we continue to lead Indiana forward, please contact me with questions or input at 317-232-9793 or by email at You can also learn more about the work being done on your behalf by signing up to receive my email updates at


Rep. Kirchhofer (R-Beech Grove) represents House District 89,

which includes portions of Marion County.

A high-resolution photo of Kirchhofer can be downloaded by clicking here.