Jasper County legislators announce $2M awarded to boost local road projects

Posted by: Lydia Kirschner  | Friday, April 17, 2020 3:00 pm

STATEHOUSE (April 17, 2020) – Jasper County and DeMotte were both recently awarded $1 million in state matching grants to bolster road and bridge improvements, according to State Reps. Doug Gutwein (R-Francesville) and Sharon Negele (R-Attica).

Over 200 Indiana cities, towns and counties received a combined total of $126.5 million through the Community Crossings Matching Grant program. The grants are made available through the Indiana Department of Transportation as a result of a law both lawmakers supported in 2017.

“So many of our rural communities could not complete much-needed road projects without these state matching dollars,” Gutwein said. “The Community Crossings program is a vital resource that evens the playing the field so small towns don't get left behind.”

Grant funding can be used toward road and bridge preservation, road reconstruction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage. Smaller municipalities must provide a match of 25% in local funds, while large communities must provide a 50% match.

"Some of our smaller towns may be working with leaner budgets that can make upkeep on infrastructure difficult to maintain," Negele said. "That's why the Community Crossings program is so important to our rural areas. These matching grants can go a long way toward ensuring roads and bridges are safe across the state."

In total, more than $738 million has been distributed for local road projects through the Community Crossings program. State law requires annually that 50 percent of the available matching funds be awarded to communities within counties with a population of 50,000 or fewer. 

An estimated $100 million will be available for communities opting to apply for these grants during the July 2020 call for projects. More information about the program and recipients can be found at www.in.gov/indot.


State Rep. Douglas Gutwein (R-Francesville) represents House District 16, which
includes all of Pulaski County and portions of Fulton, Jasper, Newton and Starke counties.
Click here for a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Sharon Negele (R-Attica) represents House District 13, which includes all of

Benton County, and portions of Fountain, Jasper, Montgomery, Newton, Tippecanoe,

Warren and White counties. 
Click here for a high-resolution photo.