Gutwein: Pulaski County, local towns eligible for pandemic relief funds

Posted by: Lydia Kirschner  | Thursday, May 28, 2020 11:09 am

STATEHOUSE (May 28, 2020) – Pulaski County and local towns are eligible for more than $530,000 to cover COVID-19-related expenses through the federal stimulus package, according to State Rep. Doug Gutwein (R- Francesville).

Indiana allocated $300 million in federal funding from the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economics Security Act to counties and communities for reimbursement of expenditures related to the pandemic. Gutwein said the funding, allocated based on population, cannot be used to replace lost tax revenue.

"During this public health crisis, keeping Hoosiers safe is crucial," Gutwein said. "Our local communities have done a great job protecting our neighbors. This relief funding is meant to help ease the financial burden some towns may be facing after fighting the spread of COVID-19."

Pulaski County is eligible for $404,541 in reimbursement funding. In addition, these local communities are eligible to receive the following amounts:

  • Francesville $26,117;
  • Medaryville $18,460;
  • Monterey $6,650; and
  • Winamac $75,204.

The Indiana Finance Authority is in charge of implementing guidelines on how each county, city and town can use the funding, as well as compiling reimbursement requests through accepted documentation including invoices. Visit for more information.


 State Rep. Douglas Gutwein (R-Francesville) represents House District 16, which
includes all of Pulaski County and portions of Fulton, Jasper, Newton and Starke counties.
here for a high-resolution photo.