Frye: Future educator scholarship awarded to local students

Posted by: Abigail Campbell  | Wednesday, May 2, 2018

STATEHOUSE (May 2, 2018) — Several students in Decatur and Ripley counties planning to pursue a career in education were selected to receive the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to State Rep. Randy Frye (R-Greensburg).

Frye, who supported legislation creating this scholarship program, said the scholarship is awarded to top-performing students who commit to teaching in Indiana for five consecutive years. Recipients will receive $7,500 per year for up to four years to obtain a teaching license.

“Teachers can have such a tremendous impact on the lives of their students,” Frye said. “This scholarship helps give these recipients the opportunity to realize their passion and pursue a teaching degree. It is encouraging to see so many young Hoosiers committing to both the education profession and the state of Indiana.”

The Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20 percent of their high school class or earn a score in the top-20th percentile on the SAT or ACT. Frye said in order for students to continue receiving the scholarship in college, students must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year.

More than 500 students applied, and 200 scholarships were recently awarded to highly qualified students across the state, including these recipients from Decatur and Ripley counties:

Decatur County

  • Olivia Ortman, Columbus East High School, University of Indianapolis;

Ripley County

  • Caleb Moster, Batesville High School, Purdue University West Lafayette;
  • Abigail Riehle, Milan High School, Marian University; and
  • Brooke Todd, Switzerland County Senior High School, Hanover College.

“We’re encouraged to have so many driven, passionate students applying for this teacher scholarship, and we look forward to the positive impact they will have in classrooms and school communities across Indiana,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers.

The 2019-2020 application will be available beginning in the fall. Visit for more information.


Rep. Frye (R-Greensburg) represents Ohio, Ripley and Switzerland counties, as well as portions of Decatur, Jennings, Jefferson and Dearborn counties.

A high-resolution photo of Frye can be downloaded by clicking here.