Ellington: Future educator scholarship awarded to local students

Posted by: Brenda Holmes  | Wednesday, May 2, 2018

STATEHOUSE (May 2, 2018) — Several area students planning to pursue a career in education were selected to receive the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to State Rep. Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington).

Ellington, who supported legislation creating this scholarship program, said the scholarship is awarded to top-performing students who commit to teaching in Indiana for five consecutive years. Recipients will receive $7,500 per year for up to four years to obtain a teaching license.

“Congratulations to this year’s Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship winners,” Ellington said. “This scholarship encourages Indiana’s best and brightest students to pursue teaching degrees. Top-notch educators are key to inspiring our young people to succeed.”

The Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20 percent of their high school class or earn a score in the top-20th percentile on the SAT or ACT. Ellington said in order for students to continue receiving the scholarship in college, students must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year.

More than 500 students applied, and 200 scholarships were recently awarded to highly qualified students across the state, including these recipients from Daviess, Greene, Martin and Monroe counties:

Daviess County

  • Elise Jerrels, North Daviess Jr./Sr. High School, Indiana State University;

Greene County

  • Casey Mitchell, Eastern Greene High School, Ball State University;

Martin County

  • Suzanna Scott, Shoals Community High School, Vincennes University;

Monroe County

  • Rebecca Frye, Bloomington High School North, Indiana University Bloomington;
  • Noel Gillenwater, Edgewood High School, Indiana University Bloomington;
  • Emily Headdy, Edgewood High School, Ball State University; and
  • Greta Stephenson, Bloomington High School North, Indiana University Bloomington.

“We’re encouraged to have so many driven, passionate students applying for this teacher scholarship, and we look forward to the positive impact they will have in classrooms and school communities across Indiana,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers.

The 2019-2020 application will be available beginning in the fall. Visit www.LearnMoreIndiana.org/nextteacher for more information.


Rep. Jeff Ellington represents House District 62, which includes

portions of Greene, Monroe, Martin and Daviess counties.

A high-resolution photo of Ellington can be downloaded by clicking here.