Eberhart: Local farm honored at the Statehouse

Posted by: Hannah Carlock  | Friday, April 7, 2017 2:40 pm

STATEHOUSE (April 7, 2017) — State Rep. Sean Eberhart (R-Shelbyville) and State Sen. Chip Perfect (R-Lawrenceburg) today honored a locally owned family farm for being in operation for more than 150 years.

The Glenn and Nellie Glick farm, located in Bartholomew County, was recognized at the Statehouse with a Hoosier Homestead award for 150 years of family farm ownership. In operation since 1846, the family was presented a sesquicentennial award. 

“The heart of Hoosier agriculture belongs to farm families,” Eberhart said. “Farming contributes $31.2 billion to our economy, relying heavily on the work that these dedicated families put forward. For more than 150 years, this family has continued to contribute to our great state’s agricultural tradition.”

“Indiana has a rich agricultural history,” Perfect said. “I am thankful to these families for their dedication and hard work that has kept these farms in the family for over 150 years. I commend them on this truly remarkable feat, and am thankful for the contributions they have made to our communities.”

The Hoosier Homestead Award Program recognizes farms that have been owned and maintained by the same family for 100 years or more.

Two awards ceremonies are held each year, in spring and summer, to commemorate the achievements of farmers across the state. For more information on the Hoosier Homestead Award Program, visit www.in.gov/isda/2337.htm.


State Rep. Sean Eberhart (R-Shelbyville) represents House District 57,
which includes Shelby County and portions of Bartholomew and Hancock counties.

State Sen. Chip Perfect (R-Lawrenceburg) represents Senate District 43, which includes Jennings and Ohio counties and portions of Bartholomew, Dearborn, Decatur, Jackson and Ripley counties.

NOTE TO THE EDITOR: Attached and below is a picture of the Glenn and Nellie Glick Farm receiving the Hoosier Homestead Award at the Statehouse for 150 years of contribution to the agriculture community.