Culver: Local students receive first-ever educator scholarship  

Posted by: Brenda Holmes  | Wednesday, May 17, 2017

STATEHOUSE (May 17, 2017) — Local students planning to pursue a career in education are among the recipients of this year’s Next Generation Hoosier Educator Scholarship, according to State Rep. Wes Culver (R-Goshen).

Culver supported legislation creating this scholarship program last year to help incentivize top-performing students to pursue a career teaching in Hoosier classrooms. 

“The Next Generation Hoosier Educator Scholarships are an investment in Indiana’s future,” Culver said. “I would like to congratulate these high-achieving individuals who will enter the teaching profession ready to help Hoosier students obtain a quality education.”

According to Culver, the Next Generation Hoosier Educator Scholarship pays $7,500 per year for up to four years to students who obtain their teaching license and commit to teaching in Indiana for five consecutive years. The scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20 percent of their class or earn a score in the top 20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

Over 600 students applied, and 200 scholarships were awarded to highly qualified students across the state, including these recipients from Elkhart County:

Elkhart County

  • Brady Bechtel, Goshen High School, Bethel College
  • Melinda Bontrager, Northridge High School, Taylor University
  • Nathaniel Ganger, Goshen High School, Marian University
  • Marci Miller, Northridge High School, Indiana Wesleyan University

“The Commission wants to congratulate all 200 of the students who were chosen to receive the Next Generation Hoosier Educator Scholarship,” Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers said. “We were encouraged by the high-quality applicants and know these future teachers will have a positive impact in Indiana classroom.”

The 2018-2019 application will be available beginning in the fall. Visit for more information. 


State Rep. Wes Culver represents House District 49, which includes portions of Elkhart County.

A high-resolution photo of Culver can be downloaded by clicking here.